A Long Day ~ KLCC

16 June – I woke up feeling lazy. I knew that I would miss the bus. Despite setting alarm at 7.15am and 7.30am, I find myself turning it off and continue to be in my paradise on the lazy bed. I took my bath and changed my clothes. I chose wore an orange T-shirt which I regretted later because the collar was too loose. It tend to slant to other side and show one side of my shoulder as I was also carrying a bag with shoulder strap. It is not good looking. I don’t feel comfortable with it and definitely decreases my confidence. I also didn’t apply any gel on my hair which is obviously a big no no because it turned out to be a mess later on.

Knowing that I would be late, I decided to take the cab which cost RM10. From far, I could see a driver parked his cab by the side of the road to get breakfast. He seems to be walking very slowly. As he got onto his cab and drove towards my direction, I waved. One part of me thought of not going on to his cab as the way he walks is kind off a bad sign. Turns out the driver is a very old man. He looks like a Chinese. I was kinda worried because he looks like he is in his 80’s.  I didn’t listen to my thoughts nor my instinct was screaming at me telling me not to get on to his cab. I just asked about the price and get on his cab. He honks every now and then to alert others, so I think he is a careful person. I find myself constantly looking at him to see if he’s gonna fall asleep anytime. But he didn’t. I got to my destination safely.

I lined up to buy the KTM ticket and walked to the other lane. It was hot and sunny. I managed to find a shelter where I could stand and wait for the train. I noticed this guy who took the elevator up from the other side then, the same way to get to my side of the lane. He probably has problem walking up the stairs if not being lazy. I waited and waited. Then there was this guy walking on the tracks carrying a sign pole over his shoulder. Like a cowboy entered the bar, all eyes was on him. At that point, my mind imagined him being hit by a train from the back. I tend to see his action as dangerous. Then, of course he walked to somewhere safely and disappeared from sight. My focus on him was lost as my mind was still in a state of tiredness. Yes… tiredness. This effect soon showed its after effects later on.

An old train came by and I managed to get on. My friend later messaged me which came to a conclusion that we got on the same train. Our stop was one station away from where I was. As usual, there’s no feeling lax when in a crowded places. I constantly feel my belongings if they are still there. I don’t intend to have my day messed up by some theft. Soon, we reached the station. I walked out trying to look for my friend. We ventured together to KLCC. That’s our destination of the day.

Realizing that both of us seem to be the first time taking this route, I asked a guy on which lane that I should be waiting on. He kindly showed us the right one. Just when we got on the train, we realized that there was no KLCC station on the map. Then, I noticed the Masjid Jamek. On the train we kinda doubted if he got us to the right track. I remembered that he mentioned something about Masjid Jamek. Instinctively, that is the place where I think we should be getting off. It turns out right. We got to KLCC! The after effects kicked in. I was not even thinking. We walked around looking for food. We had our brunch at Dome which was very expensive. There was nothing special with the food. About 40% of the cost that we paid for is for its branding. The food was expensive. As we brunched, my friend received some annoying request from her friends. It turned out to have quite a huge annoying effect on my friend that I get to feel her wrath after.

We strolled around KLCC before getting to Aquaria. There was nothing distinctively new with it. From there, I realized that my friend has quite an observation capability. The creatures were just sitting quietly in the tank and my friend managed to spot them faster than I did despite they blend so well in their confined habitat. I was not comfy the whole day because of my shirt. Should get a tight neck shirt next time. After the Aquaria, we walked back to KLCC for movie. That’s when the tiredness kicked in. The cinema hall was 5 and the seat was D9 and D10. For reasons unknown, I was thinking that 10 was the cinema hall. We waited for some time before we realized it. On the way, was a tall handsome foreigner. He has blue eyes. I did not hear what he was saying but I think it was about that we can go into the cinema already.

The movie was rated 18. It was gross and disturbing. I didn’t like the movie one bit. My friend was laughing like crazy. But that’s she being herself. I was not embarrassed at all. She quite enjoyed herself with it. Before we went in, we bought popcorn royale. It was delicious! However, the quantity was small but hey, that only means that there will be more room for dinner later. The movie that we watched was titled Contracted. It was a disturbing movie about the side effects of engaging in unprotected premarital sex with a stranger which is mixed with extreme gross and zombie origin. Near end of the movie, there was a flashback on how she seemed to be before she turned the way she is. At that time, I thought that the movie creators want to deliver a strong message. We get to see how a nice looking girl and the things she did to get messed up. It all started with the most common tactic. Going into friend’s party. Drink too much, then people offer drink with secret ingredients inside. Because she is drunk, she just drinks it anyway and BAM!

The messages are clear: Never get drunk without trustworthy friends. Never have sex with strangers. Never say you are alone in clubs. Never show sign of weakness for people to approach. Never take drinks from strangers. Think rationally when people advise you for your own good even if you think the adviser has hidden agenda. Family is a place that you can always turn to when you are in trouble. Seek help before it gets out of hand.

The movie was educational. Though it isn’t the type of movie that I would usually go for. Anyways, right after the movie, we went for the subsequent mission. I have to buy a pair of new pants because one of the duo pair that I got somehow got tore off. I was lucky enough to buy a 50% off Padini pants for RM 60. It is so comfortable!! It is the most comfortably pair of pants that I bought so far. My friend also got what she came out for. We went for dinner at Wendy’s. The environment was quiet. Could use a bit of ambient music. Then, we went back. I sent my friend to her KTM station and took off because my train ride arrived very soon and she has her friend coming to fetch her.

For some reason, I SMS-ed her asking if she was okay but she didn’t reply. I missed call three times and still no reply. My mind was troubled. Is she okay? She suppose to have reached her hostel by now. Did she turned of her data plan? But even so, she should still be able to receive calls. Countless negative thoughts passed through my mind. But even if I head back to the station, I might not be able to do anything. Besides, I won’t be able to get back if I do so. Hoping and praying that everything will be alright, I took the cab back and wished for the best. Then, she called me back and I was relieved. From that point onwards, I have decided that I would send her back and make sure she is safely returned home next time. I would not be able to live with myself if something happened to her.

Mission completed. We all got what we wanted. It was tiring. I learned a lot of lessons. My supervisor returned his comments on my thesis draft. If there’s nothing else going wrong, then I should be able to print it tomorrow.

Leave a comment